SAMADHI ‘levels’

(Before you start reading this article, you may need to read The Eight Limbs of Yoga.)

Samadhi is a spiritual experience that opens us to the highest state of consciousness and inner bliss. It is stepping into your enlightened nature that is free from all suffering. Samadhi is found through diving into a consistent state of pure consciousness, that is void of attachment to any thought. Samadhi is a deep personal, intimate merging with the divine inside you and all around you. It is being unified with the Universe through your consciousness.

When one reaches Samadhi there is a deep knowing that all is one, and that “oneness” is at the core of who you are. Samadhi gives you a moment to moment spiritual experience that is opening, trusting and softening into each new moment of your life. Samadhi is the eternally expanding realization that your ego is not real, and that you (the soul, spirit and divine essence) are what is truly real and will never die.

Laja Samadhi

It begins in deep meditation or Trance – even with movement such as dancing, etc.

It is state of joy, deep and general well-being, and peaceful meditation.

Savikalpa Samadhi

‘Savikalpa Samadhi’ refers to the initial (beginning) state of full valued Samadhi. In Savikalpa samadhi, for a short period of time you lose all human consciousness. In this state, the conception of time and space is altogether different.

With the human time you cannot judge; with the human way of looking at space you cannot judge. In that samadhi , for an hour or two hours you are completely in another world. You see there that almost everything is done.

Here in this world, there are many desires still unfulfilled in yourself and in others. Millions of desires are not fulfilled, and millions of things remain to be done. But when you are in Savikalpa Samadhi , you see that practically everything is done; you have nothing to do.

You are only an instrument. If you are used, well and good; otherwise, things are all done. But from Savikalpa Samadhi everybody has to return to ordinary consciousness.

Even in Savikalpa Samadhi there are grades. Just as there are brilliant students and poor students in the same class in school, so also in Savikalpa Samadhi, some aspirants reach the highest grade, while less aspiring seekers reach a lower or a middle rung of the ladder, where everything is not so clear and vivid as on the highest level.

In Savikalpa Samadhi, there are thoughts and ideas coming from various angles, but they do not affect you. While you are meditating, you remain unperturbed, and your inner being functions in a dynamic and confident manner.

Nirvikalpa Samadhi

Nirvikalpa Samadhi‘ is the highest samadhi that most spiritual Masters attain, and then only if they have achieved realisation.

When you have become one with the soul in Nirvikalpa Samadhi , there will be no ideas or thoughts at all. Here nature’s dance stops. There is no nature, only infinite Peace and Bliss. The Knower and the Known have become one. Everything is tranquil. Here you enjoy a supremely divine, all-pervading, self-amorous ecstasy. You become the object of enjoyment, you become the enjoyer and you become the enjoyment itself.

It lasts for a few hours or a few days, and then one has to come down. When one comes down, what happens? Very often one forgets his own name. One forgets his own age. He cannot speak properly. But through continued practice, gradually one becomes able to come down from nirvikalpa samadhi and immediately function in a normal way.

Generally, when one enters into Nirvikalpa Samadhi , one does not want to come back into the world again. If one stays there for eighteen or twenty-one days, there is every possibility that he will leave the body. But there is a divine dispensation.

Sahaja Samadhi

For Sahaja Samadhi, the Supreme’s infinite Grace is required. Sahaja Samadhi comes only when one has established inseparable oneness with the Supreme, or when one wants to show, on rare occasions, that he is the Supreme.

Sahaja Samadhi is by far the highest type of Samadhi . In this Samadhi, one is in the highest consciousness, but at the same time he is working in the gross physical world. One maintains the experience of Nirvikalpa Samadhi while simultaneously entering into earthly activities. One has become the soul and at the same time is utilising the body as a perfect instrument.

In Sahaja Samadhi, one walks like an ordinary human being. One eats. One does the usual things that an ordinary human being does. But in the inmost recesses of his heart, he is surcharged with divine illumination. When one has this Sahaja Samadhi, one becomes the Lord and Master of Reality. One can go at his sweet will to the Highest and then come down to the earth consciousness to manifest.


Mahasamadhi is the final conscious abandoning of physical body. To achieve Mahasamadhi all karma needs to be completely dissolved – requiring that that individual has at least achieved self realization or soul realization (Samadhi) before being able to realize Mahasamadhi.

The physical body die. Soul/spirit doesn´t exist anymore then, that´s why it is called liberation/freedom… Then the spirit is including in everything & everywhere for ever – that´s is Oneness (or unity or infinity or universal consciousness or God) = that´s all is the same, only used different names for it. Every person that reached Samadhi /state without ego/ is beyond karma. Every this kind of living person is free & is going to “die” into mahasamadhi where become God at all, no more births as a human being.  Become ONE with everything forever.








With love & respect,

Gabriela (Ga Briela)

2 thoughts on “SAMADHI ‘levels’

  1. What techinque do you recommened for achieving samadhi? I’ve tried so many?no luck. Do you know any breathing techniques that will work?
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s